Board of County Commissioners

Garrett County is governed by the Board of County Commissioners (the "Board"), whose three members are elected to serve four-year terms and must live in the District which they represent. The Board exercises only such powers as are conferred by the General Assembly of Maryland.

The daily operations of the county are administered by the County Administrator, under the direction of the Board of County Commissioners. The County Administrator is responsible for overseeing the financial planning, annual budget process, personnel management, and direction and management of operations within the organization.

Mission Statement

The mission of Garrett County Government is to provide our citizens the highest quality service in a timely, efficient, and courteous manner.

This delivery of services will be provided through the proficient competence of our employees and in partnership with our citizens.

To totally achieve this goal, this government must be operated in an open and accessible atmosphere, be based on comprehensive and strategic long-term and short-term planning, and have an appropriate managerial organization of fiscal responsibility.

Commissioners Staff

Kevin G. Null
County Administrator 
Email: [email protected]

Gorman E. Getty, III
County Attorney
Email: [email protected]

Carol A. Riley-Alexander
Executive Assistant
Email: [email protected]


203 South Fourth Street - Room 207
Oakland, Maryland 21550

Phone: 301-334-8970
Fax: 301-334-5000

[email protected]