Board of License Commissioners

Maryland Annotated Code Alcoholic Beverages Article AB, Statement of policy - Regulation and control of alcoholic beverages. -- To obtain respect and obedience to law and to foster and promote temperance, it is the policy of the State to regulate and control the manufacture, sale, distribution, transportation, and storage of alcoholic beverages in the State; and the transportation and distribution of alcoholic beverages into and out of the State. To carry out this policy in the best public interest, it is the intent of the General Assembly that the Comptroller, local licensing boards, liquor control boards, enforcement officers, and judges of the courts of the State be empowered to administer and enforce this article.

It is also the policy of the State to tax alcoholic beverages as provided in the Tax - General Article; and deny to a political subdivision in the State, by public general or public local law, the power to impose a tax on distilled spirits, beer, wine, and all other alcoholic beverages.

The restrictions, regulations, provisions, and penalties contained in this article are for the protection, health, welfare, and safety of the people of the State.

The Garrett County Board of License Commissioners also known as the Liquor Control Board are responsible for issuing alcoholic beverage licenses at the retail level and enforcement of State and local laws, rules, and regulations governing retail sales.

The members of the Board are appointed by the Governor. He shall appoint two members of the Board who are members of that political party which has elected a majority of the members of the Board of County Commissioners and one member of the Board from that political party other than the one electing a majority of the Board of County Commissioners. The appointments shall be confirmed by the House of Delegates if there is no resident Senator elected from the county.

Document Alcoholic Beverages Article § Title 21 Garrett County - Subtitle 2 Board of License Commissioners (181.29 KB)
Document (Establishment - Members - Appointment -Qualifications - Meetings - Vacancies) (163.69 KB)

Board Members

Michael J. Fratz, Commissioner
David L. Moe, Chairperson
Lisa M. Herman, Commissioner


Debbe Owston
Administrator to the Board of License Commissioners
Phone: 301-334-1925
[email protected]