Mountain Maryland Energy Advisory Committee

The Mountain Maryland Energy Advisory Committee (MMEAC) was created in November, 2013 to advise the Garrett County Commissioners on local and state policy, regulation, programs, and legislation issues to help guide energy planning with the goal of maximizing likely positive effects and minimizing potentially negative consequences. Creation of the MMEAC and management of committee activities was supported by a consultant, Downstream Strategies, LLC.

Document Committee Member Description (119.57 KB)
Document Committee Charge (109.44 KB) (pdf download)

Final Report

Document MMEAC Final Report Summary (1.2 MB)
Document MMEAC Final Report (5.17 MB)

Committee Members

Mike Koch, Director - Garrett County Economic Development (Chair)
Tim Carney, Senior Project Manager - Allegany County Economic Development
David Dorsey, Acting Planning Coordinator - Allegany County Planning Services
Jim Torrington, Chief - Garrett County Permitting Office
Rodney Glotfelty, Health Officer - Garrett County Health Department
Dr. Stephen Hartlaub, Professor of Environmental Policy - Frostburg State University
Paul Durham - Citizen of Garrett County
Dr. J. Edward Gates, Professor - UMD Appalachian Lab
Jo Gilman, Administrator - Garrett College
Mike Dreisbach, President - Garrett Trails and Owner - Savage River Lodge
Eric Guthrie, Division Manager - Pillar Innovations (Chamber of Commerce Representative)
Bob Sutton - Deep Creek Property Owners Association and President of Sky Valley POA

Meeting Archive

Meetings were held on the 3rd Wednesday of each month from 3:00 to 5:00 pm. The meeting location was the Garrett Information Enterprise Center (GIEC), on the campus of Garrett College, located at 685 Mosser Rd (rm 103), McHenry, MD.